Tags

, , , ,

We all have our comfort zone. No matter what we are doing – work, home, out and about – we have places, people and situations that we feel comfortable, relaxed and happy in.

So, how far are you prepared to step out of the comfort zone you have set yourself? Well, I am about to step right out of mine.

On Saturday 20th June, I am going to abseil (freefall style, like the SAS, only much, much slower!) from the iconic Forth Rail Bridge to the sandy beach 165ft below!

bridge(You can donate here – just click on the Give Now button at the top)

To say this is outside of my comfort zone is an understatement – about 165ft outside my comfort zone.

Back in 1985, I was working in a nightclub in Bath, which was being renovated. At some point during this renovation, I fell off a ladder, some 25 ft up into a roof space, to the ground. No real damage (couple of decent bruises was about the extent of the physical damage) but the mental scars have never really healed. Put simply, since that day some 30 years ago, I struggle with heights. I jokingly tell people I suffer vertigo on a deep pile carpet, and that actually isn’t far from the truth!

Am I bonkers? Yes.

Have I thought this through? Actually, yes.

Can I do it? Yes!

(I sound like a car finance advert!!)

The main question I guess you are thinking is why?

I have managed to reach 49 years of age with no major illness or health problems, despite, for a number of years, a fairly unhealthy lifestyle (the recently diagnosed type 2 diabetes aside).

However, I am a realist. The 25 odd years that I was a smoker, heavy drinker, and ate poor food (takeaway phone numbers on speed dial!!) will have taken their toll, and together with a family history of heart issues, I am reaching an age where I need to know I will get the treatment I need when I need it, and that my better half will get the support she requires when she needs it.

My target is £200. A £1 donation from each of my Facebook friends alone will considerably beat that. Please give what you can, and think of me throwing myself off a bridge in June! Oh, and if you are in the area, why not come along and cheer me down – I’ll let you know what time I am due to drop, and I guarantee I will be heading to the local for a brew or two afterwards!!

Chest Heart & Stroke Scotland’s mission is to improve the quality of life for people in Scotland affected by chest, heart and stroke illness, through medical research, influencing public policy, advice and information and support in the community.

Please visit http://www.chss.org.uk/us/ for more information.

Thank you for taking the time to visit my everydayhero page.

Donating through everydayhero is simple, fast and totally secure. Your details are safe with everydayhero they’ll never sell them on or send unwanted emails. Once you donate, they’ll send your money directly to the charity. So it’s the most efficient way to donate – saving time and cutting costs for the charity.

